Oklahoma Plumbing License

Oklahoma Plumbing License

If you want to become a plumber in Oklahoma, you should get a license. Hence, you need to know all the rules for your future career.

Steps for getting a plumbing license in Oklahoma

Unlike Ohio, three types of authorization exist here:

  1. Apprenticeship
  2. Journeyman
  3. Contractor

The first step in gaining official permission begins at the apprenticeship level. It is a compulsory condition to get a permit in this area. Eventually, you may advance to the journeyman level, and lastly to the position of a contractor.

In essence, the Construction Industries Board conducts the licensure.


The requirements to obtain a plumbing license are not complicated in this state. You will be convinced if you read the following sections.


If you wish to become a licensee journeyman, meet the demands listed below.

  1. You should be 18 years or older.
  2. Pay a $75 fee.
  3. Three years of working experience in one of these positions:
    • As a plumber under the registered supervisor
    • Any post referring to this field while serving in the armed forces of the United States


  • Career Tech Diploma or an associate degree can replace two years of job history. It should demonstrate the plumbing educational curriculum. Further, classes must contain at least 1000 hours․
  • Also, a Career Tech Diploma may substitute for one-year work history. The compulsory number of lessons is 500 hours.

In addition, the confirmation of the committee is obligatory.


The same requirements are applied to a contractor license with a slight difference:

  • Be at least 19 years of age.
  • Hold a year of additional experience in this trade.
  • The payable fee is $330.

Journeymen and contractors should complete an application. It also includes the request for examination.


To obtain an Oklahoma plumbing apprentice license the following criteria are primary:

  • Be a minimum of 14 years old.
  • Undergo training at the workplace with a qualified contractor or journeyman.
  • Fill out an application to gain an apprentice card and pay $25 to CIB.
  • Pay the annual fee.

All payments for applications should be sent to CIB.

Online plumbing classes

The classes should be approved by the Board. There is a wide range of online training. You may choose any course that suits you the most by looking through the available plumbing classes.


To get a permit in this sphere you must pass both the business and law exams. Each of them costs $100. The minimal score is 75%. As a rule, PSI is in charge of the examination.


According to the agreements between states, you must have owned a valid authorization for at least one year. That is, possessing a journeyman or contractor permit provided by the Board is mandatory. It is necessary to pass all the steps described above.

The following states have reciprocal agreements with Oklahoma: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Texas, and Wyoming.

Renewal process

To renew an authorization, you must complete an official form of document. Pay attention that the payable fee for a contractor is $200, and for a journeyman is $75.


For the Oklahoma plumbing license lookup, you need to visit the Oklahoma CIB website. You can look up someone or a company by their first and last name, business name, license number, or trade.

Narine H

Narine H

Narine is a new specialist in content writing. She graduated with a bachelor's degree in pedagogics from the BSU. She is fluent in four languages. She likes studying not only Indo-European languages but also languages belonging to other language families. Although she is skilled as an academic writer, now she tests her strength in SEO as a content writer.